New Zealand

Map of New Zealand and country flag

The island nation of New Zealand is located in the South Pacific Ocean in the region of Oceania. The islands of New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji, and Tonga lie to the country’s north, Antarctica is to the south, and Australia is to the west, separated by the Tasman Sea. Together, Australia and New Zealand are known as Australasia. New Zealand is also part of a region called Polynesia.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol
New ZealandOceaniaAustralia and New ZealandWellington5,228,1000.00%264,537New Zealand dollar$
The country consists of two main islands, the North Island and the South Island, and more than 700 smaller islands. The largest of the smaller inhabited islands include Chatham Island, D’Urville Island, Great Barrier Island, Stewart Island, and Waiheke Island.
New Zealand’s capital city is Wellington, located on the southwestern tip of the North Island. In the far north of the North Island, Aukland is the country’s most populous city. Other notable urban areas include Christchurch, Queenstown and Rotorua.
New Zealand is renowned for its breathtaking natural landscape: soaring mountains, deep fjords, shimmering lakes, rolling hills, and numerous glaciers. Fox Glacier is arguably the country’s most famous, attracting hikers from all over the world. Tourists are also drawn to New Zealand for its world-class skiing, spectacular scenery, mesmerizing glow-worm caves, and extreme sports like bungy jumping and skydiving. The resort town of Queenstown is nicknamed the “Adventure Capital of the World”, boasting the Southern Hemisphere’s highest bungy jump, as well as other adventure sports like whitewater rafting, jet boating, skydiving, and paragliding.
The country’s highest mountain is Aoraki/Mount Cook in the Southern Alps mountain range, which extends almost the entire length of the South Island. The North Island is less mountainous, but it is the site of many volcanic eruptions. This is because New Zealand sits on the Ring of Fire, an area defined by its significant earthquakes and volcanic activity. Lake Taupō, the country’s largest lake, is situated within the crater of the Taupō Volcano — one of the most active supervolcanoes in the world.
New Zealand’s system of government is a constitutional monarchy that’s based on the Westminster system. The British Monarch is the official head of state. However, they act on the advice of a democratically elected government.

New Zealand: Stats and Facts

Official LanguagesMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)
English has de facto status
Maori language
God Defend New Zealand,13441 00 S, 174 00 E5
UTC −11:00 — Niue
UTC −10:00 — Cook Islands
UTC +12:00 — main territory of New Zealand
UTC +12:45 — Chatham Islands
UTC +13:00 — Tokelau