Samoa is an island in the Polynesia region of Oceania. It includes two main islands and several smaller islands, two of which are inhabited. Samoa is situated in the South Pacific Ocean, with the continent of South America to the east, Australia and New Zealand to the southwest, and Papua New Guinea to the west. Its closest neighbors include the islands of Tokelau, Niue, Tonga, and Wallis and Futuna.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

Samoa’s capital and largest city is Apia, on the island of Upolu. Home to almost 75 percent of the population, it is the country’s second-largest island after Savai’i. Samoa’s only other inhabited islands are Manono and Apolima.

Throughout the world, Samoa is known as a tropical paradise consisting of white sand beaches lined with palm trees and thatched huts, lush rainforests, coral reefs, and crystal-clear waters. However, the country’s landscape also consists of scrubland, mangrove swamps, marshes, and mountains. Its highest point is Mount Silisili, which is part of a mountain chain that runs the length of Savai’i island. All of Samoa’s islands originated from volcanism, but Savai’i is the only one to remain volcanically active.

Samoa experiences annual cyclones during the wet season. The wet season runs from November through April and the dry season runs from May through October. Samoa’s proximity to the equator means it has an equatorial climate with hot and humid conditions throughout the year.

Samoa is a unitary parliamentary democracy with a Prime Minister who is the head of the government.

Samoa: Stats and Facts

Official LanguagesMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)