Fiji is an island nation in the Melanesia region of Oceania. Situated in the South Pacific Ocean, to the east of Australia, and to the north of New Zealand, its closest neighbors include the islands of Wallis and Futuna, Tonga, New Caledonia, and Vanuatu. Fiji is an archipelago consisting of more than 800 islands and islets. Around 110 of its islands are permanently inhabited, with roughly 87 percent of the population living on the two major islands: Viti Levu and Vanua Levu.

Country Profile

The capital of Fiji is Suva, on the island of Viti Levu. It is the largest city in the country, and it serves as the main port.

Tourism is a major industry in Fiji due to the countryโ€™s rich culture, friendly locals, idyllic beaches, and diverse marine life. Some of the most popular tourists destinations are Nadi on Viti Levu, the Mamanuca Islands, and Denarau Island.

The countryโ€™s longest river is the Sigatoka River on Viti Levu. The island is also home to Mount Tomanivi, the highest point in Fiji. Both Viti Levu and Vanua Levu are mountainous and covered with dense tropical forests.

Fijiโ€™s climate is tropical marine, with a relatively constant temperature throughout the year. The country has two distinct seasons: dry and wet. The wet season runs from November through April, and the dry season runs from May through October.

Fiji is a republic with a President and a Prime Minister. The President is the head of the state and the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces, and the Prime Minister is the head of the government.

Fiji: Stats and Facts