Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is a country on the island of Hispaniola, which it shares with Haiti. The island sits in the Greater Antilles archipelago of the Caribbean Sea and is bordered to the north by the Atlantic Ocean.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

Santo Domingo, located on the island’s southeast coast, is the capital of the Dominican Republic. The city is the oldest continuously inhabited European settlement in the Americas. Santo Domingo was founded by Spanish settlers on the east bank of the Ozama River in 1496, although the settlement moved to the west bank in 1502.

The country declared independence from Spain in 1821. However, it was annexed by neighboring Haiti in the following year. The Dominican Republic declared independence from Haiti in 1844. In the following decades, the country was torn apart by several civil wars and briefly returned to Spanish rule. The United States occupied the Dominican Republic from 1916 until 1924.

The Dominican Republic has a representative democracy with a president who serves as head of government and head of the multi-party system.

The country has a tropical climate characterized by hot, humid weather throughout the year. The wet season tends to last from May to November, and the dry season lasts from December through April.

There are four main mountain ranges in the Dominican Republic: the Cordillera Septentrional, Cordillera Central (highest range), Sierra de Neiba, and the Sierra de Bahoruco. The highest point in the country is the Pico Duarte, which is located in the Cordillera Central and has an elevation of 3,101 meters.

Dominican Republic: Stats and Facts

Official LanguageMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)