Costa Rica

Costa Rica, officially called the Republic of Costa Rica, is a country in Central America (typically considered a subregion of North America). The Caribbean Sea borders the country to the northeast, and the Pacific Ocean borders it to the southwest. Costa Rica shares land borders with Nicaragua to the north and Panama to the southeast, as well as maritime borders with Ecuador to the south of Cocos Island.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

The major mountain ranges in Costa Rica are the Cordillera de Talamanca, Cordillera Volcanica, and Cordillera de Guanacaste. Costa Rica’s highest mountain is Mount Chirripó (in the Cordillera de Talamanca range), which has an elevation of 3,821 meters. The country is home to several active volcanos and sometimes experiences earthquakes.

Costa Rica has a tropical climate with a dry season (December to April) and a wet season (May to November). The country has high temperatures throughout the year. The warmest area of the country is usually the Pacific coastal region, while the highland areas (such as the Cordillera de Talamanca) are the coldest.

San José, in the center of Costa Rica, is the country’s capital. The city is the seat of the country’s government and home to the Casa Presidencial, where the Costa Rican president lives. The country’s president is both the head of state and the head of government.

The official language of Costa Rica is Spanish (a variant called Costa Rican Spanish), a remnant of over 300 years of Spanish colonial rule. Some of the indigenous languages spoken include Maléku, Cabécar, and Bribri.

Costa Rica: Stats and Facts

Official LanguageMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)