Liechtenstein, officially the Principality of Liechtenstein, is a micro-state in Western Europe. It’s located in the Alps, landlocked between Switzerland to the west and Austria to the north and east.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

With a land area of just 160 km², Liechtenstein is one of the world’s smallest nations. The principality is divided into 11 municipalities, the largest of which is Schaan. Liechtenstein’s capital is Vaduz, located on the Rhine River near the border with Switzerland.

Liechtenstein sits on an elevation of 453 meters above sea level. The highest point in the principality is the Grauspitz mountain in the Rätikon range of the Alps, which has an elevation of 2,599 meters.

Liechtenstein has a semi-constitutional monarchy, which means political power is shared by the parliament (which is democratically elected) and the monarch. Following a constitutional referendum in 2003, the nation’s monarch can veto parliamentary decisions and even sack the government. Liechtenstein was the last European nation to introduce universal suffrage when women were given the same right to vote as men in 1984.

Liechtenstein is a member of the Schengen Area and the European Economic Area. The nation is also a member of the United Nations (UN), the Council of Europe, and the European Free Trade Association. However, it is not a member of the EU.

The nation has a continental climate with varying weather throughout the year. Summers tend to be wet and warm, while winters are cold, with plenty of rain and snow. It is partly cloudy throughout the year.

Liechtenstein: Stats and Facts

Official LanguageMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)