Uzbekistan, officially the Republic of Uzbekistan, is a country in Central Asia. The country is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north and Kyrgyzstan to the northeast. Tajikistan borders Uzbekistan to the southeast, Afghanistan borders it to the south, and Turkmenistan borders it to the southwest. Uzbekistan is one of only two doubly landlocked countries in the world. It has no territory connected to the ocean and is bordered by landlocked countries.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

Tashkent, founded in the 3rd century BC, is the capital of Uzbekistan. The city is located near the Kazakhstan border in the country’s northeastern region. Other major cities in Uzbekistan include Namangan, Samarkand, and Andijan.

In 1873, the Khanate of Khiva became a Russian protectorate. The area covered modern-day western Uzbekistan, southwestern Kazakhstan, and much of Turkmenistan. Khiva had a revolution in 1917 following the Russian Revolution and became the Khorezm People’s Soviet Republic in 1920.

When the Khorezm People’s Soviet Republic was abolished in 1924, the territories were divided, and the Uzbek Socialist Soviet Republic was formed. The republic was governed by the Uzbek branch of the Soviet Communist Party until 1990. The Uzbek SSR was renamed the Republic of Uzbekistan in 1991 and announced independence from the Soviet Union three months before it dissolved.

Uzbekistan has an arid continental climate. The northern region is typically colder than the southern region. Snow often falls in the winter, with January and February usually recording the lowest temperatures. The summer is often hot and dry, with particularly high temperatures in July and August.

Khazret Sultan is formally believed to be the highest mountain in Uzbekistan, with an elevation of 4,643 meters (15,233 ft). However, an expedition in 2023 suggested that Alpomish (located on the Uzbekistan-Tajikistan border) has an elevation of 4,668 meters (15,315 ft) and is the country’s highest mountain instead.

Uzbekistan is a presidential constitutional republic. Uzbekistan is a presidential constitutional republic. The country’s president is the head of state, and the prime minister is the head of government.

Uzbekistan: Stats and Facts

Official LanguageMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)