Kazakhstan (officially called the Republic of Kazakhstan) is the largest country in Asia. The country has a coastline along the Caspian Sea and borders Russia in the north and west and China to the east. It also borders Kyrgyzstan to the southeast, Uzbekistan to the south, and Turkmenistan to the southwest.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (km²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol

Astana, in central Kazakhstan, is the country’s capital. The city is located on the banks of the Ishim River. Other major cities in Kazakhstan include Almaty, Shymkent, and Aktobe. Kazakhs, an indigenous ethnic group, comprise the country’s population. Kazakh is the most spoken language in the country, along with Russian, which is Kazakhstan’s official language.

The climate of Kazakhstan is continental, with cold winters and hot summers. The coastline along the Caspian Sea has a cold desert climate. Astana is often noted as being one of the coldest capital cities in the world.

A large portion of the country is covered in desert, along with semi-desert, forests, and mountains. The highest point in the country is the Khan-Tengri Peak, which has an elevation of 7,010 meters.

The president, elected by popular vote to serve a five-year term, nominates a prime minister who serves as the head of government.

Kazakhstan’s most popular tourist attractions include the Ile-Alatau National Park in Almaty, the Underground Mosque of Beket-Ata in the Mangystau Province, and Ascension Cathedral in Almaty.

Kazakhstan: Stats and Facts

Official LanguagesMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)