Comoros is an archipelago of islands in Eastern Africa. Situated in the Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean, its closest neighbors are Mozambique to the west, Mayotte to the south, and Madagascar to the far south. The Comoros consists of three major islands and multiple smaller islands. The three main islands are Ngazidja (Grande Comore), Ndzwani (Anjouan), and Mwali (MohΓ©li). The country’s capital and largest city, Moroni, is on Ngazidja.

Country Profile

Official NameContinentSubregionCapital CityPopulationWorld Population %Land Area (kmΒ²)CurrencyCurrency Symbol
The Union of the ComorosAfricaEastern AfricaMoroni852,0750.01%2,235Comorian francFr

Ngazidja, the largest island, has two volcanoes, one active (Mount Karthala) and one dormant (La Grille). Mount Karthala is the country’s highest point and one of the most active volcanoes in the world. The second-largest island is Ndzwani, while Mwali is the smallest of the main islands. All three islands are covered by forest. Along with the island of Mayotte, they make up the Comoros forests ecoregion.

The climate of the Comoros is tropical. It has a hot, rainy season, which runs from December through April, and a cooler, dry season which runs from May through November. While cyclones can occur in the region, they are rare.

The Comoros is a federal presidential republic with a President who serves as both the head of the state and the head of the government.

Comoros: Stats and Facts

Official LanguagesMain ReligionNational AnthemISO alpha-2ISO alpha-3Internet country domains (TLDs)Dialling CodeCoastline Length (km)Geographic coordinates (center point of country)Number of Time ZonesTime Zone(s)Daylight Savings Time?Driving SideGDP (PPP)GDP per capita (PPP)GDP (nominal)GDP per capita (nominal)
"Udzima wa ya Masiwa"
("The Union of the Great Islands") 10 S, 44 15 E1UTC +03:00Not observedright$3,632,000,000$3,535$1,445,000,000$1,406