Algeria is a country in Northern Africa. It is bordered by Tunisia and Libya to the east, Niger and Mali to the south, and Mauritania, Western Sahara, and Morocco to the west. It is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north.Β 

Country Profile

Algeria is the largest country in Africa by area. It became Africa’s largest country in 2011 when Sudan was divided into two countries: Sudan and South Sudan. Algeria is also the largest country in the Mediterranean Basin β€” the land region surrounding the Mediterranean Sea.

The country’s capital, Algiers, lies on the Mediterranean coast. The city is home to Algeria’s most famous landmark: The Casbah of Algiers, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Northern Algeria is mountainous, with the Atlas Mountains dissecting the country from east to west. It also has a long stretch of hilly, mountainous coastline with numerous bays. Much of central and southern Algeria is covered by the Sahara Desert, the largest dry desert and the third-largest desert in the world.

The climate in Algeria varies from arid desert in the south to Mediterranean in the north. The desert region is hot during the day and cold at night, while the coastal area and northern mountains experience warm, dry summers and mild, rainy winters.

Algeria is a semi-presidential republic, with a President as the head of the state and a Prime Minister as the head of the government.

Algeria: Stats and Facts